Rockets Protest Denied

On Wednesday, the NBA’s commissioner’s office has denied the Houston Rockets protest of their 135-133 loss against the San Antonio Spurs on December 3rd, 2019. Houston protested a non-basket scored by James Harden at the 7:50 mark of the 4th quarter. The officials ruled that Harden’s slam dunk would not count even though the ball went through the rim.

While agreeing that the referees misapplied the rules, Commissioner Silver determined that the Rockets had sufficient time to overcome the error during the remainder of the fourth quarter and two subsequent overtime periods and thus the extraordinary remedy of granting a game protest was not warranted.

-Statement from the NBA’s commissioner’s office

Also all 3 referees have been disciplined as well for misapplying the Coach’s Challenge rule as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *